Obama Banned from Entering Foreign Country

OPINION | This article contains opinion that reflects the author's views.

Russia announced that they have banned 500 Americans from entering the country, including former President Barack Obama and comedian Stephen Colbert.

Russia did not specify complaints against each individual, but said they have “spread Russophobia.”

🚨 POLL: Was Obama a good president?
YES 👍 or NO 👎

The country is targeting anyone who has supplied Ukraine with arms or were “directly involved in the persecution of dissidents in the wake of the so-called ‘storm of the Capitol.’”

45 members of the U.S. House were banned, inbluding Republican Sens. J.D. Vance of Ohio, Katie Britt of Alabama, and Eric Schmitt of Missouri.

Former ambassadors to Russia John Tefft and Jon Huntsman were banned.

More on this story via Western Journal:

The ministry said it had also denied a U.S. request for consular access to Evan Gershkovich, a Wall Street Journal reporter who was arrested in late March and charged with espionage.

The ministry said that was in response to the United States denying visas to Russian journalists who wanted to cover Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov’s visit to the United Nations last month.

The latest sanctions aimed at Russia include tighter restrictions on already-sanctioned people and companies involved in the war effort.

The financial penalties have been primarily focused on sanctions evaders connected to technology procurement for the Kremlin.